Teacher Brain

This is a real thing.  Some people I know don’t believe me, but it’s so real it’s almost painful.

My teacher brain has symptoms like super restless insomnia.  I am sometimes so tired that I think I might throw-up, but for some unknown reason, my brain spins and spins and spins.  It thinks about different seating possibilities for that obnoxious kid in 5th period.  It revamps all my warm-up activities for the week.  It lurches ahead to March and starts designing a unit that I don’t need to think about for at least another 3 months.  It’s absurd.

No matter where I am, or what else I’m doing, I’m almost always thinking about my students, or my curriculum, or my classroom organization. ALWAYS.

It was so absurd this month that I forgot to pay rent.  For the first time in the history of me, I just totally blew it off. *Sigh*  I’ll try again next month.

2 Comments

Filed under secret lives of teachers

2 responses to “Teacher Brain

  1. erin46

    I have to tell myself, OUT LOUD, “This is not a priority right now” sometimes! I hear you!

  2. Ms. M

    I should try that. I need to do something, because it’s like all my ‘smart’ is leaking away with the exhaustion!

Leave a Reply

