Gearing Up

Despite the fact that we do not officially have to go in until Thursday, I have been inundated with requests from my principal and content coach to come in starting today.  We started getting the mass e-mails requesting our presence last week.  Good thing that ever since the first year I have created the habit of being out of town until the day before we go back.  Everyone seems to know that I leave town right after we get out and I don’t return until the week we begin again so I haven’t been hassled too much this year.   Many of my colleagues have been back since last week, which is totally up to them, but I purposely leave my closets really organized with all my ‘beginning of the year’ supplies ready so it’s been a snap coming back in.  I’d rather stay late on the first few days than go in one second early. 

I have spent some time this week at home looking at my curriculum, trying to block out a better system for covering things than I did last year.  I also created a new, more concise parent letter and student questionnaire.  Lastly, and the thing I am most proud of, is that I spent a lot of time creating a website for my students to go to if they want lists of homework assignments, info about whatever we’re covering in class, links to the online grade system so they can log-in and check their progress, etc etc.  That took me forever, but I think it’s going to be really useful for those who choose to check it out. 

I have been trying to think positively about the new year since I am still feeling wishy-washy about going back.  I have spent some time remembering favorite students, or ones I feel I achieved something with.  It’s been working a bit, but I think the thing that will make the biggest impact is putting my foot down and telling the Almighty Admin I will not, under any circumstance, take a student teacher.  I am just not ready for it, it’s only my 4th year!  It cheated everyone involved last year because I was so stressed that I wasn’t able to give the time deserved to the students or my student teachers.  I think I will be a better teacher, and ultimately more prepared to handle helping someone else learn to do this if I give myself more time to develop.  I hope the they can suck it up and understand that.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Gearing Up

  1. Is it just me or is this MUST COME IN THREE DAYS EARLY crap system-wide this year?

  2. 15 (really 14) more years

    Your post made my blood boil- and for exactly the reason stated in the comment above. Yes, it is ABSOLUTELY a system-wide agenda to get us to come in early. I can practically guarantee you that if we are not careful, as of August, 2010, we will be going back the entire last week of August. I admire you for sticking to your principles and staying home.

  3. Last year my principal tried to guilt me into a workshop mid summer by naming others who had agreed to show. As if I had nothing better to do… First rule, don’t answer blocked numbers… I never did respond to her request.

  4. SYDNEY

    That all sounds great — If you can indeed refuse and succeed, go for it. Your reasoning is good and you are pretty effective in telling them that so I think it’ll work. And that has to make a better year this year. I don’t know where you managed to find time to create this website, but that sounds great too — will be interested to know how many kids end up using it. Do they have computers at home?

    Do they pay you all for coming in early?

Leave a Reply

